Status: The parliament passed the statutory resolution on repealing Article 370 of the Indian Constitution in August 2019. With this, the government revoked the special autonomy available to the State of Jammu and Kashmir since 1949. It further reorganised the state into two Union Territories: Jammu & Kashmir with legislative assembly, and Ladakh without legislative powers. Key steps taken in the current tenure for overall development in J&K and Ladakh include a new scheme for industrial development with an outlay of Rs 28,000 crore to attract private investments in the region, extending central schemes and laws including voting rights and reservation benefits to local tribes and refugees, new domicile law, establishing Panchayati Raj Institutions, and setting up a high-powered committee to address concerns of Leh Apex Body and Kargil Democratic Alliance. i ii iii iv v vi vii viii